Smarter Travel NTA 016

Sharon Daly, National Transport Authority and Siobhan O'Dwyer, Limerick Smarter Travel presents Jordan Kelly, Stephen Johnson and Kevin Dunne from the University of Limerick with their prizes at the National Transport Authority's prize giving event for Limerick entrants to the Student Cycling Challenge hosted by Limerick Smarter Travel.

The aim of the Challenge, which is open to all campuses who are partners of the Smarter Travel Campus Programme, is to clock up as many cycle trips as possible over the ten-day challenge.

LIT's Biotech Team came in second position in the national event having clocked up 371 trips, narrowly missing out on first position by eight trips to UCDÕs Victorious Vets.

There was further success for Limerick entries however, with Ciara Meikle from University of Limerick winning the Best New Cyclist Story Category. Ciara, referring to herself as "a born-again cyclist", wrote about how the Student Cycling Challenge helped her to rediscover her love for cycling.

Pic Sean Curtin Photo.
Smarter Travel NTA  016